,

My Teacher’s Pets

My name is Jay, and I’m kind of sad.
We can’t go to school; this virus is bad.
I can’t play with my friends, and it makes me mad.
I miss them so much—I hope we’re hand in hand.

It’s our first day in class, and I open my laptop.
Online classes are boring; sometimes my brain stops.
I’m praying that a genie will suddenly show up,
Then I’ll wish this pandemic ends in just a snap.

The screen lights up, and I see my friends.
We smile at each other as the lesson begins.
“Cluck, cluck! Welcome to our class!” says the chicken.
Wait, what?! Why is there a chicken on the screen?

“Who are you? Where’s our teacher?” we ask.
The chicken answers, “Master is sick, so he gave me his task.”
“Do you know when he will be back?”
“Master said he will meet you all tomorrow. Cluck, cluck!”

The chicken makes us laugh as we get our lessons done.
Learning is easier when we’re having so much fun.
I enjoy it a lot and hope the chicken won’t run,
But he says, “That’s all,” and says goodbye to everyone.

Time flies so fast, and it is the second day.
We don’t see any chicken, but a dog greets us, “Hey!”
I ask, “Are you our teacher for today?”
The dog says, “Woof, woof, woof! That is right! You’re so smart, Jay!”

The dog adds, “The chicken is busy, and Master is still sick.
Master needs my help, so I got here quick.”
The dog is very gentle as we give our reading a kick.
I want to hug him and give him some sticks.

The third day is very exciting.
Our teacher’s cat helps us with drawing.
Then we are dancing, singing, and cheering.
The cat says, “Meow, meow! You are all amazing!”

But on the fourth day, the pets are not online.
The screen shows our teacher; he says he now feels fine.
He teaches us well; he is very nice and kind.
But we are still hoping the pets will show up from behind.

Our teacher asks, “Are you looking for my pets?”
We answer, “Yes, teacher! Can they be our guests?”
“Hmm. I don’t think I can get them all here yet.”
Then our teacher smiles and says, “Let’s see what happens next.”

Today is the fifth day, and we are so happy.
Mr. Chicken is back, and we shout, “Yippee!”
Next week, we are all going to see Mr. Doggy.
Then we’re going to sing and dance again with Mr. Kitty.

It’s Sunday, and I can’t stop thinking about it.
My mother asks me as we eat,
“How’s your online class, Jay? Do you like it a little bit?”
I say, “I like it so much, Mommy. Our teacher has a lot of pets.”

My mother looks at me curiously.
“Why are your teacher’s pets in your class, honey?”
“Oh! When the teacher is sick, the pets teach us, Mommy.”
She asks if I can show her tomorrow, and I agree.

Monday comes, and Mommy joins us.
She watches as Mr. Doggy teaches our class.
She looks closely and uses an eyeglass,
Then claps her hands and, so hard, she laughs.

I’m surprised and look at her.
Mommy says, “That’s no pet, that’s your teacher.
He wears mascot costumes to teach you better.
He is a good teacher, very clever.”

I have learned that our teachers try their best
Just to keep us entertained and so impressed.
They even use different voices and get dressed.
Great teachers throw away our stress.

The pandemic hits us like a cannonball.
Every little change here and there can make us bawl.
Education is something we should call
Online class is not that bad after all.

Tags:

Blog at WordPress.com.

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started